Thoughts

The Truth Sucks: Plagiarism

I am at the library studying and the topic is plagiarism and it made me think of all my poetry I have written.

What if someone steals it and claims it’s their own. We all know what happened last month. I kind of want to remove them from the site, but I know that’s a bit much. I just don’t like the idea of my work being so out there and someone copying them. I get it people borrow from people all the time and no idea is truly original at this point, but it just makes me nervous.

I was talking to my friend Dani about this and she pointed that some of my phrases that I use in my poetry are very generic at times (she said “the sky is grey” is always used to describe something dreary and winter related ( -_-) I was a tad offended because I work hard on my poems and she was like, “Yeah nah thats generic”, anywho I am rambling) and maybe a person isn’t necessarily plagiarizing. I don’t know, when I see a phrase that reminds me of something I’ve written on another blog I get nervous.

Hell could I be plagiarizing and not know it? Can the words of Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, Robert Frost, Anne Waldman, Langston Hughes, and Maya Angelou be imprinted in my brain and when I write a poem I am channeling my inner badass poet?

Has anyone felt like this before?

5 thoughts on “The Truth Sucks: Plagiarism

  1. Honestly, at this point, nothing is truly original. We all feed off each other but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. The community aspect of blogging is probably one of the best parts. What I can’t accept is straight up plagiarizing. That just isn’t fair. But you know it’ll catch up to the person eventually because their lack of writing skills will show and they won’t have a consistent voice at all.

    Like

    • Yeaaaaah I know, I know, I can’t coin the phrase lol but thanks, when I write I really don’t stop and think, nor do I re read I just let my thoughts flow. But after this I will challenge myself and read up more on different words / phrases to use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

