Television

I Don’t Care For A Charmed Reboot

I used to be obsessed with Charmed in the 7th grade and as I got older it was hard for me to get hooked on other shows. I would watch those reality love shows but that’s about it. Then I discovered Buffy & Once Upon A Time, and as you know I am obsessed with both shows…. But let’s talk about the bullshit that I stumbled upon.

tumblr_ojhc44wh0p1tcbchho2_250

Anyway I have been hearing and reading along the internet that there is a Charmed reboot that is going to take place in the 70’s. My first thought was cool… but then I thought about it. Lets do a little bit of wiki research.

The Charmed Ones are a prophesied sisterhood of three (later four) witches who descend from the Warren line of witches. They are known as the most powerful witches ever to walk the Earth and are dedicated to protecting the innocent and ridding the world of evil.

Each Charmed One has one specific power inherited from their ancestor, Melinda Warren; the prophecy states that the eldest has the power to move things with her mind, the middle sister can freeze time, and the youngest can see into the past, present, and future.

The magical bond between these sisters is known as The Power of Three, and is said to be the strongest form of magic in the world. It is represented by the ancient symbol called the Triquetra.

Although the prophecy speaks only of three sisters, there is a fourth Halliwell sister. After the death of Prue on May 17th, 2001, the Halliwells’ long lost half-sister, Paige, was revealed. She received her powers and joined Piper and Phoebe, taking Prue’s place in the Power of Three and reconstituting the Charmed Ones.

All taken from the Charmed Wikia

So how is it that the series is going to be rebooted and taken place in the 70’s when some of the Charmed ones were in diapers? Makes no sense. If thats the case then the show shouldn’t be called Charmed. In fact, with all the plot holes Charmed already has I don’t care for this reboot.

I am currently reading season 10 of the comics (it sucks by the way) and even that is a plot hole mess. I don’t want to be a negative Nancy but I don’t care for a Charmed reboot set int he 70s… If anything it should take place in the future and follow the Charmed one’s children. I also hope to god that they don’t reboot Buffy.

buffy-funny-gifs-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-21951396-350-262

So what are you thoughts? Did you watch Charmed growing up? Do you care for it?

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

20 thoughts on “I Don’t Care For A Charmed Reboot

  1. THIS!!! I literally just had the same conversation with one of the girls I work with. It makes no sense at all to do what is essentially a “prequel” – plus wouldn’t we all like to go back to drooling over Chris and Wyatt? lmao #MaybeJustMe

    Like

  2. I watched Charmed growing up and I just recently started watching it again on Netflix recently. I can understand a prequel about grams and their mother, if they go that route it might be interesting, but I am not sure I am sold on the idea, but I would watch the show to see how they managed to create a story line.

    Like

    1. Well that would be an interesting story line because Grams was born in 1937 and Patty in 1950… making Grams a mom at 13, I was on the Charmed Wikia all night reading the inconsistencies. I would watch the 1st episode, even maybe the 2nd if its good. But I don’t care for a reboot.

      Like

      1. No they changed ABC Family to Freeform. They said it was because their programs were for teens/adults not the “family” anymore. The shows up there are ok. Typical teen drama stuff, but I enjoy The Fosters.

        Like

  3. I used to watch Charmed, but then they entered the new witch and things just kept getting weirder. I mean, not that I’d expect a very realistic series about witches, but still. The whole storyline was a mess and kept getting messier.

    Also: “I also hope to god that they don’t reboot Buffy.” – ME EITHER! Why don’t they just stop rebooting old series and come up with good new ones instead?

    Like

Leave a Reply

