Ramblings

Lies To Keep Us Going

Before I start I want to thank Bexoxo for nominating me!

“I am always saying “Glad to’ve met you” to somebody I’m not at all glad I met. If you want to stay alive, you have to say that stuff, though.”

This quote is from the novel The Catcher in the Rye I read it when I was in the 10th grade and I didn’t really care for it. I thought Holden was spoiled, I couldn’t relate to him or his privileged ways, and I didn’t understand why the novel was so controversial. I want to read it now as an adult to maybe understand it better. As a teen I thought I was so edgy and complex and since J.D Salinger wrote a book that was supposed to be complex I thought it would be cool to read.

The reason why I like this quote so much was because it was one thing I could relate to and its something I still do today. To make life easier it’s a habit to say nice things even if you don’t mean it. An example is how I ask my boss how was his weekend, I don’t really care about my boss or how his weekend was, but I ask because its the nice thing to do.

210581669

Nominations: (SAME AS BEFORE BECAUSE I AM LAZY)

https://confessionsofareborngirl.wordpress.com/

https://stealingyoursunbeams.wordpress.com/

https://headinablender.com/

The Rules:

  • 3 quotes over 3 days
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • 3 nominees each day to complete the challenge
  • Inform the nominees (Won’t be doing this either cause I am lazy  *nervous laugh*)
2 thoughts on “Lies To Keep Us Going

  1. I should be able to participate in the quote challenge this time around because Winter break is hours away (I’m taking my last college final today) I loved “Catcher in the rye” because I was going through a very edgy and complex phase when I read it 😀 you should definitely read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

