Ramblings

Mini Post? Quote Challenge? Yeah.

“Maybe if your voice saying “be nice” hadn’t been in my head, then maybe I wouldn’t have helped the guy with the fucking sick dog!” – Ma

So this quote speaks VOLUMES to me because as girls we are always told to “be nice” and I say fuck you to that because if a creeper is asking me for help I am going to say nah. But I digress.

I was nominated by Bexoxo for a 3 day quote challenge and here is a quote that for the past year has stuck with me. It is from the film Room based on the novel that I haven’t read by Emma Donoghue.

Nominations:

The Rules:

  • 3 quotes over 3 days
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • 3 nominees each day to complete the challenge (I won’t be nominating different people maybe, not sure I am so lazy right now)
  • Inform the nominees (Won’t be doing this either cause I am lazy or I might in the morning cause its around 10 pm and I am tired *nervous laugh*)

The scene from the film is powerful.

5 thoughts on “Mini Post? Quote Challenge? Yeah.

  1. I love this! Not only did it make me laugh (I’m sorry if that wasn’t intended) because it’s so true! But it hit a nerve – I *hate* people telling me to “be nice”. It’s a very self-serving thing to say! Also, it’s almost like a prelude to “You’re a woman, you have to listen to what I’m saying because you should be subservient.” But maybe that’s me reading too much into things. xx

    Like

    • Nah that’s exactly how I feel about it. It kind of made me laugh too when I initially heard it and then when I rewatched the film I was just shocked. Even though she’s going through a lot she’s right, if she wasn’t constantly told to be nice she may have not gotten kidnapped.

      Like

Leave a Reply

