College

Probation Is Over

I am off academic probation and I found out the REAL reason why when I spoke to a college counselor. In one of my previous posts I stated, “Due to the major change and me taking off a semester, I have been placed on academic probation and I can only take less than 12 credits.” But that wasn’t entirely true. Here is the reason why:

  • I took a year off of college
    • One semester in 2014 & One semester in 2015
  • My current GPA is a 3.2
    • In the Liberal Arts Psych program you need to maintain a 2.5 GPA however in the Business Administration program you need to have a 3.5 GPA

It wasn’t that I changed my major, it was the fact that my GPA wasn’t high enough for the program, I got into the program but I was on probation for most of this semester and couldn’t attend “full time”. Even though I am off probation I’m still not going to take more than 12 credits. I am not trying to bite off more than I can chew.

Anyway, this semester has roughly 3-4 weeks left and I am so excited. Accounting has been the absolute worst, followed by Calculus, and lastly my Computing class has been the easiest. I already picked my classes for next semester. I want to get the “light” courses AKA my humanities / art classes out of the way because it snows a lot in New York and I do not want to be driving all over the place after work.

Spring 2017 School Schedule

ART 140 Introduction to Digital Photography / 3 credits – Thursday

BUS 101 Introduction to Business / 3 credits – Online Course

HUM 114 Mythology  / 3 credits – Online Course

I am not good at drawing and since I have a camera I might as well make use of it and actually learn how to use it. I also find it funny how Introduction to Business, is actually considered an ELECTIVE at the college. You would think that it would be a main class. Hopefully my textbooks won’t cost me an arm and a leg. I struggle a lot during the winter with academics, work wise, and I always gain weight.Hopefully since I am back on my medication this winter will be different!

tumblr_n4g0g9kk2i1qjaamso1_1280

Lastly, I want to take at least one gym class in the summer. I am leaning towards Yoga if I don’t take it this semester. All the classes were filled so I couldn’t sign up for one. I think it’s the dumbest thing that colleges require you to take a gym class. I firmly believe its just for you to waste more money. To my followers who live outside of the U.S. and are in or used to be in college / university, was gym a requirement?

11 thoughts on “Probation Is Over

  1. I can’t speak for outside the U.S., but my physical education credit was done through community college and I was able to do horseback riding, which I grew up around horses, so it wasn’t so much a class for me, as a nice way to go riding for school credit. But I agree; I don’t think colleges should require a P.E. credit.

    Like

  2. I’m not from the USA and we didn’t have a gym requirement in college. Thank goodness for that! Those years in high school were hell enough! D:
    I do like working out now, though. But possibly because I am free to choose how and when and if I want to 🙂 Yoga sounds interesting, though, maybe you’ll like it!

    Like

  3. Mine doesn’t require PE credit and in in the USA. That’s so cool that you’re taking a mythology course! Best of luck with your academics, Winter is rough for a lot of people for a lot of reasons. I’m going to be right there with you, let’s stay strong for each other, k?

    Like

Leave a Reply

