My frenemy that I went to middle school with is getting married in two months. She graduated from college and is currently in grad school. The guy she is marrying is about 10+ years older than her with a kid or two I think. My co worker commented that, “She really has her shit together.” That comment triggered a lot of questions.

I am 23 years old I work full time & go to college full time. I have my own car and well that’s pretty much it. Does that qualify as me having my shit together? Am I not adulting properly?

I look at some of my other friends who don’t live at home and / or are in relationships and wonder if that what it means to have your life together? Then I also look at my friends who don’t work and / or smoke a lot of pot. Does that mean they don’t have their life together? My slacker friends seem 10x happier than my friends who are working and not living at home.

When I compare myself to my peers who have their bachelors and don’t live at home I sometimes feel inadequate. Then I have peers who do nothing all day but lay around and smoke weed and it makes me feel like I’m doing something with my life.

tumblr_nraueky7ze1qzj9bdo1_1280

My biological father is in his 40’s and hasn’t had steady work since he was in his 20’s I feel that when you’re in your 20’s that’s when you get your hustle on. I don’t want to be in my 30’s and still struggling. I know that’s a far fetched dream because everyone struggles but I think its a normal thing to want.

Looking through Facebook pages of the people I went to high school with definitely had me feeling insecure about where I am in life. Also, with Gary passing it made me think about how anything could happen, and if I were to die tomorrow I would really feel as if I didn’t do much. This one girl I know has severe depression and yet she just put down 25% on a new condo. Does having anxiety / mental illness hinder me from feeling inadequate? Is it holding me back from my full potential. I just started taking my medication again and I know it’s going to take at least a month for it to really kick in. But I digress.

tumblr_ofmwctrnmv1rgewhto1_500

What are your thoughts on adulting? Do you see yourself as having your shit together?

