Ramblings

Feminism, Adulting, and Elections

This is my 101 post! Ah, my las post Why I Love Autumn was my 100th. Wow I feel so old. I cannot believe I reached 101 blog posts!


I haven’t been following this year elections. All I know is that Donald Trump, you know, the blonde dude who was in the Home Alone movie for a few seconds is running for president. I also know, that Hilary Clinton is running for president. A lot of my female friends are voting for Hilary just because she’s a woman and I don’t agree with that. Do I feel that we need a female president? Yes, but she has to be qualified. I don’t know anything about anything in these elections and who exactly is qualified, but I digress.

When I told my friend that I wasn’t going to vote for Hillary just being she is a woman, she asked, “How can you say you’re a feminist and not vote for Hillary.” Does me not voting for Hilary veto my feminist card? Have I always been a shitty feminist? I believe in equality for all but, after what she said I really thought about it…I don’t have the slightest idea on how to be a good feminist. I haven’t read any literature written by feminist or seen feminist types of movies, so I really am at a loss. Do I not shave my pits? Do I burn my bra? I have no idea.

12798119_1545841605708769_503692878_n
Actress Lana Parrilla posing in front of Rosie the Riveter AKA War Propaganda… I swear any excuse to have Lana on my blog.

Feminist Literature Read: Zero… I think…..

Feminist Movies Seen: No idea

I know as a female minority my rights slightly differ from not only males but other females of different races as well. But what can I do? I really don’t know much about feminism besides the definition.

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-5-59-26-pm

I haven’t read any feminist literature, or took part in a women’s right issue… man do I feel like a slacker right about now! In all honesty how can I be a feminist when in hindsight, I do have it easier than most. How can I relate to the Malala Yousafzai’s of the world who want simple things as free education for kids while I cry about Chipotle not having a drive thru?

I swear I can listen to Malala talk all day. I haven’t read her book but I want to. Seriously watch her interviews, she’s amazing.

Another reason why I am ranting about this is because my aunt and uncle found out that my cousins boyfriend is telling her what to do, how to dress, and what colleges she needs to go to. My cousin being a naive little thing is not hanging out with her friends and is actually listening to the garbage coming out of her boyfriends mouth. My Uncle isn’t one for having a boy telling his daughter what to do. My aunt is making sure my younger cousin is preoccupied with things so that they won’t see each other. I knew eventually this would happen, he’s not supposed to date outside of his religion, and my younger cousin is a tad bit naive. What makes him think he can tell my cousin what to do? He doesn’t provide for her financially so I am not seeing where he is getting the balls to do such things. I have the urge to slap him in the face.

aid150705-728px-recognize-a-manipulative-or-controlling-relationship-step-4-version-2
Got to love google images because this is my cousins boyfriend. All smiles and laughs, but he is actually the devil.

So this post was short but I wanted to get that off my chest. I think I am a feminist, I believe in equality with everybody, but I don’t think I am doing it right. Hell, I can barely get adulting done right. No, I am not voting for Hilary because she is a woman, I also am not voting for Trump. I don’t know who I want to vote for. I ramble a whole lot…. I know. Anyway, what are your views on feminism?  Also, to my feminists out there, what books do you guys recommend to read?

14 thoughts on “Feminism, Adulting, and Elections

  1. I’ve read one feminist novel actually (summer reading for English a few years back haha) and it was “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath. I would recommend it because it’s very intimate and touches on mental health a lot which interests me. I’m too broke to burn a bra also! (I love that title btw.) I think feminism is a little misunderstood in that people think you have to go to all these extremes like not shaving your armpits or giving your undying support to any woman in power. I think that’s fake feminism if anything. Anyone can hop in the shower without a razor but not everyone can stand up for equality. And that’s just what feminism is all about. Equality between the genders. I think you can shave whatever you want and vote for whoever you want and still be a feminist. It would be different if you didn’t vote for Hillary BECAUSE she’s a female, that’s misogynistic. But if you choose not to vote for her for a legitimate reason, then that’s fine.

    Like

  2. YOU ARE NOT A BAD FEMINIST. Lol, I have the same issues actually. I don’t particularly like Hilary, nor do I like Trump, but I’m not going to vote for Hilary simply because she’s a woman because guess what? That’s sexist towards men haha so you can use that as a response to your friend’s comment. People mistake feminism for hating on men which is not true and I don’t like it. Part of being a feminist means loving men too. And I consider Legally Blonde as a feminist movie. You’ve seen plenty of them, I’m sure of this haha

    Like

      1. That is simply not true, feminism is about equality between genders. But I do hate the “What about the men?!” arguments online. Tumblr is a great place for reading up on feminism – just stay away from TWERFs.

        Like

  3. Great post! Also, you’re not alone. Also, also, I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award! I really enjoy reading your posts and wanted to share your blog. Pop over to my page to view the instructions (under the Award tab). I wish you the very best!

    Like

  4. If you’re a bad feminist (which you’re not) then I am too. I actually think voting for Hilary just because she’s a woman is sexist in itself. You can check out a local library if you want to read feminist books. My library has a whole section dedicated to feminism.

    Like

  5. I consider myself a bad feminist because I am too inarticulate to participate in discussions on feminism, lol. I also do not read feminist literature specifically. I do try to brush up on feminist websites, though – you should check out Feministing and Hello Giggles!

    Like

Leave a Reply

