Book Reviews

Book Review Monday

Last week I read three books (yes I read fast) and man were they good, I mean they were mind blowing. Best part of it all, two of the books are free.

Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinburg

screen_shot_20141124_at_2-45-09_pm-crop-promovar-medium2-45-09_pm

First let me say, I stayed up pretty late to finish this book and I read it at work. All in all it probably took me 8-10 hours to finish.

Only a few books have left a long lasting impression on me. Judy Blume’s Forever is one of them and to be honest I can’t really remember another one. I have read a ton of books and none of them ever had me question life the way this book did. I am ashamed to say that this is the first LGBT novel I have read that wasn’t a fanfic or manga. I am so glad that I read this novel first. On television there is a lot of queerbating, unnecessary drama in LGBT relationships, and 99% of the time a gay character dies (Tara from Buffy… remember?). So, I can admit that I was a bit nervous about venturing in the world of LGBT novels.

This book is about Jess, a lesbian who is so confused about life that I just want to give her a hug and buy her some chipotle. She has no one to guide her or help with her feelings, she at times can come off as ignorant and biased, but her pain is so real it has you forgiving her instantly. This book is not happy at all, it leaves you feeling like you’ve been punched in the stomach but after wards the assailant gives you ice cream. Don’t get me wrong, the book isn’t sad either, and the only way I can describe it is dark. This novel is dark, it deals with, bullying, harassment at the work place, mental illness, police brutality, violence, rape, depression, pride, racism, sexism, AIDS, love, romance, failed relationships, and hurt. This book at times was hard to read, not because of the above but because I just wanted to pound everyone who wronged Jess, take her out to dinner, and be her friend.

Spoilers: The two parts of the book that had me in tears was when Jess was raped the first time by members of her high school football team and when she first visited the gynecologist. She had never been to the doctor once she she ran away from home due to fear of the police, and had no idea what a pap smear or anything was. Her exchange with her doctor was just so heartwarming and raw to the bone.

The Good: The realness of it all.

The Bad: The cops or bullies never get what they deserve, I guess I can’t complain because in reality sometimes the bad guys get away.

If you want to read something that inspires you and gives you hope then definitely read this book. You will not regret it. Get it for free here: Leslie’s Website

Final Rating: ★★★★★

Killing Me Softly by Bianca Sloane

41wlvs8bmyl

I finished this book rather quickly while in the office. I enjoyed this story because it kept me constantly turning the pages. I loved that all of the characters are mixed and biracial which was different. I would have never guessed the ending and the story wasn’t as typical as I thought it would be.

The book jumps between three characters. Sondra the accomplished film maker who wants answers for her sisters Tracy’s death and Philip who is Tracy’s former husband who wastes no remarrying. Then there is Paula, Philip’s wife with a horrid past, who deals with Philips abuse, and his OCD. However, things take a strange turn when Sondra realizes that the woman who Philip identified as Tracy is in fact not Tracy. So who is the murdered woman and what happened to Tracy?

This is a lifetime movie in written form. It took me one day to finish and even though it was a page turner there were somethings that felt flat. Certain characters weren’t flushed out to their full potential and some scenes were just entered as a shock value.

Spoilers: I thought for sure that Philip murdered Tracy and was surprised to find out that he didn’t murder her. I was glad when he died.

The Good: The mental state of Paula is well written. She clearly is a battered woman with a severe case of Stockholm syndrome. The twists at the end were good and had me on my toes.

The Bad: The sex scene between Paula and Philip made me cringe. He treated her like some sex toy and it was bad. So glad it was literally just a page.

If you have a few hours to kill then check out this book. It’s a good thriller / murder mystery. Get it free here: Amazon

Final Rating: ★★★☆☆

Dr. Vigilante by Alberto Hazan

b00faqp7os-200px

This book was a free a few days ago and I was drawn to the cover art. Even though they say, “never judge a book by its cover” I am so glad I did.

The book had my heart pounding so fast because I needed to know what was happening next. I read it in two days because I could not put it down. I am praying for a second book. I NEED a second book. This book follows two characters. Robert McKenzie is a mean ER doctor during the day and at night he is your modern day Batman with a twist. He kills the scum of the earth to avenge those that have been beaten and raped. Sharon is an optimistic social worker who moves to New York from Indiana. Things change when she finds out Robert’s secret and soon the two fall in love.

I agree with Robert’s view on life to a certain degree. I saw no problem in him beating and maiming rapists, child molesters, wife beaters, and skin heads. The ending though. The ending had me so confused. WHO WAS IT THAT SPOKE TO SHARON?!? Can someone answer me? Please!

Spoilers: Robert tracks down a child rapist and takes away his eye sight, the ability to hear, and the ability to speak. That right there is just wow.

The Good: All the ass kicking Robert does is so good. Hazan was good at writing out the scenes taking place at St. Jude and captured the hectic nature of the hospital. Sharon’s optimism is also something I enjoyed.

The Bad: WHO DOES SHARON SEE AT THE END?!? Is it Robert? Or is it the Owl? I need to know. There NEEEDS to be a part 2.

If you want to read a good action, medical thriller, love story about a doctor WRITTEN by a author with medical experience then read this excellent book. Get it here: Amazon

Final Rating: ★★★★☆


Okay so, while I was editing this and creeping around the internet. I found out that there is a part 2 of Dr. Vigilante and a part 3 that is coming out October 31st. I am going to wait until the 3rd one comes out and read both back to back. I hope you guys enjoyed my little reviews. You can also find my reviews (not as fancy written) on Goodreads. Add me on there if you haven’t already! Please leave a comment telling me your favorite books because I am always looking for something new to read. Happy Monday folks!

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review Monday

  1. Hi! I just found your blog through the Community Pool. I really love your content especially the book reviews and similar posts. Your blog seems so put together and organised and I hope mine is of the same standard in a years time. Thank you for finding me a new blog to follow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

