Daily Prompt / Poetry

Fifty Days Without You

Two things things popped into my head when I read this prompt. First, the rapper 50 cent and second, my ex best friend. She popped into my mind because when our friendship ended it seemed like I would never move on. Even now, almost 6 years later and old memories still cross my mind.


Fifty – Daily Prompt #8

Title: Fifty Days Without You
Author: Kori
Word Count: 136

Day 1

You’re a pretty girl with a rising ego.
Our friendship burned bridges and caused glares.
What happens to me now?
I can’t be all to blame.

Day 8

There was a time when nicotine fixed everything.
Boredom, hunger, and thoughts of you.
You’re venomous but certain sicknesses needed to be fed.
This is all my fault.

Day 19

It’s imperative that I redefine myself.
What do I like?
What do I want?
Conflict left cracks along the walls of my sanity.

Day 33

I still justify every horrible action.
I was in way over my head.
I know nothing.
I am not Alice, so don’t ask me anything.

Day 50

This isn’t working.
Metaphors, riddles, and cliche’s won’t save me.
I hide myself in cardboard boxes,
and my feelings for you in milk crates.


I haven’t written a poem in about a year or two. Inspiration for this prompt is my ex best friend Kris, Helena by My Chemical Romance, Shoplifters of the World Unite by The Smiths, and Tennis Court by Lorde. Happy Monday everyone!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

7 thoughts on “Fifty Days Without You

  1. I know exactly how you feel because I broke up with a friend a few months back. (Is it bad that I don’t remember the exact date? All I remember is how sweet she used to be?) It’s not easy at all and I’m still not sure if I’m going to allow myself to get that close to someone again. Time will tell I guess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

