Television

10 Awesome Binge-Worthy Shows

This is in order from shows that are really good (in my opinion) to shows that aren’t that great, yet I am still utterly obsessed with them. Enjoy! *SPOILERS AHEAD*


Buffy The Vampire Slayer

635970661007052675-1254655766_buffy

This show came out nearly twenty years ago and it’s still one of my all-time favorites. It had a good combination of scary, funny, sass, and romance. However, the strongest point were the story lines, acting, and the chemistry between the cast members. What separated Buffy from other shows is the fact that all of the characters shine. Buffy didn’t outshine the other scoobies or vise versa. Each actor brought their game and it made for a worthy television show.  If you love a good female lead and some kickassery then drop everything and watch Buffy.

P.S. Season 1 was a little slow for my liking but it gets better.

Criminal Minds

70153390

I think I watched the first 9 seasons on Netflix in a 3 month span. I wasn’t sleeping much. This show is amazing. Although, I am not going to lie seasons 8 – 10 seemed a bit repetitive for me. It isn’t your typical cop drama but in a way it is, if that makes sense. I love how they have their six core characters (Aaron Hotchner, Derek Morgan, Dr. Spencer Reid, Jennifer Jareau, Penelope Garcia & David Rossi) while having a seventh character changing every three to four seasons. I don’t watch the show when it airs on television so I wait till it’s on Netflix. What I like about the show is the acting and the show doesn’t focus on one character and the story-lines are always so extreme it has you thinking, “What the fuck?”

P.S. Each season has some awesome guest stars.

Bob’s Burgers

bobsburgers

The first season of Bob’s Burgers was hard for me to get through. It wasn’t bad, but when you’re used to Family Guy and South Park, its hard to get into another animated show because you think it’s the same. What separates Bob’s Burgers from those other shows is that it’s more realistic and the family actually loves & cares for one another. If you’re tired of Cartman’s antisemitism and Peter’s fart jokes then you’ll love Bob’s Burgers.

P.S. Gayle is the funniest. 

Stranger Things

bc571st

This show is amazing. Hands down, an amazing show. I finished the 1st season in 2 days. The acting is brilliant and the show is able to provide you with just the right amount of mystery, suspense and creepy to keep you hooked. If you love sci-fi, horror, and mystery then this series is for you. If you are an avid Stephen King fan then this series is also for you. The show pays homage to 80’s classics and does not disappoint.

P.S. How hard is it seeing Veronica Sawyer as a mom?

The Office

20090925_office_560x375

The Office is a mockumentary sitcom that follows the lives of employees at a semi failing paper company in Pennsylvania. This show is good depending on your type of humor. I think The Office takes an awkward approach at comedy. If you’re young then you might not understand the awkwardness and not find it funny. I used to watch it constantly on Netflix until I started to work at an office. Something about being in an office and watching a TV show about an office just didn’t sit with me. It’s still an awesome television show that you won’t regret watching. Rainn Wilson and Steve Carrel are just hilarious together.

P.S. I hated Jim. 

The Tudors

the-tudors_1

A lot of history buffs will say that the show is riddled with inaccuracy and its true, you don’t have to be a history buff to know that this show stretches the truth a bit. What got me hooked on this show was the amazing acting done by Jonathan Rhys Meyers, the lavish costume design, and the the fact that there is no hero or villains on the show. The “hero” can be just as dark as the villains and sometimes the villains do acts of good that surprises you. This show paints King Henry VIII as a twisted man.

P.S. This show has a bunch of sex scenes.

Person Of Interest

poipoinb

This show was amazing and shouldn’t have been canceled. Jim Caviezel & Michael Emerson make an epic pair of brains and brawn’s fighting crime. Also, Amy Acker and Sarah Shahi play two bad ass psycho “bad” guys who are sort of like anti-hero’s. The reason why I have it so low was because I got bored with the whole machine story line and everything became repetitive.

P.S. I ship Root so hard.

Once Upon A Time

tumblr_static_e2w2rme4rg8wgwccs0408swkc

Season 1 was gold. I will forever say that season 1 was the best season. Now that I’ve said that, I can say that this show is so bad that it’s good. I am not even up to date on what’s going on. After season 4 I watched only bits and pieces that had Regina scenes. I only watch the show because I am obsessed with Lana Parrilla and I ship Swan Queen so hard. The acting from Lana Parrilla, Ginnifer Goodwin, and Jennifer Morrison are great while the other actors are just okay. Barbara Hershey and Kristin Bauer van Straten play huge villain’s and their acting was amazing but they were only guest stars. The constant flashbacks, bad CGI, and shitty storyline’s just drive me bonkers. I mean if you read the storylines on wiki, it will have you shaking your head. ALSO LETS NOT FORGET THAT EVERYONE IS FUCKING RELATED TO EACH OTHER AND PRETTY SOON THERE WILL BE INBREEDING. Despite all the faults, I cannot get enough of sassy & sexy Major Regina Mills or the Evil Queen. The show is ventured to the guilty pleasure column.

P.S. Hook sucks.

Charmed

charmed-default-nologo-800x450

This is another guilty pleasure show. The first 3 seasons were amazing because I enjoyed the system dynamic and the fact that the show promoted sisterhood. Once Shannen Doherty left and the producers changed, we saw a change in the show. Seasons 4 onward did not leave the same impression that the first 3 seasons did. The characters became selfish, the plot holes were uncanny, and the last season was horrendous. BUT, this is the first show that dealt with adult themes that I watched, it will hold a place in my heart, and out of 5 stars I give it 3.5.

P.S. Season 8 is horrible.

Lost Girl

lost-girl-header

This is the type of show you watch from start to finish because the first 2 seasons were amazing and you can’t stop. Lost Girl was a horrible show after season 3, it was like they didn’t even care. But with the funny and attractive Ksenia Solo & Rachel Skarsten, the show is bearable.

P.S. Tasmin died and I cried.


Hope you guys enjoyed my list. Is there any show you recommend I binge watch? Or a show on my list that you didn’t like? Let me know!!

I apologize for the spelling mistakes if there is any.
8 thoughts on “10 Awesome Binge-Worthy Shows

  1. I LOVE Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Criminal Minds! 🙂
    I am currently hooked on The Walking Dead (it makes me hungry for chocolate for some reason) and American Horror Story. Just for the acting alone, it’s a pleasure to watch.

    Like

      • I don’t read comics, tbh. And now I don’t want to start reading that one, because it’ll mess up my opinion of the show. Just pick one side and stick to it, that’s the best advice I ever got regarding books and films and such.

        Like

  2. some of them have been my favourites! I am watching Pretty Little Liars too which sadly will end this season. But I don’t see any reason to have more than 7 seasons though. Thanks for the list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

