Thoughts

Children? Me? No Thanks.

Do I like kids? Sure I do, I worked at a day care for 3 years, I like lego’s, and I have a kick ass godson. But for me to actually get pregnant and carry a child, yeah no. Then to raise it? No. It’s not like I can’t do it, because I think I can. It’s just I don’t want to do it. Here are my reasons why.

  • I like to come and go as I please.
  • I have to wake up all random times out of my sleep.
  • I don’t want to get fatter, and getting pregnant will make me fatter.
  • I don’t want to be responsible for another life.
  • Postpartum Depression & Anxiety is very real and I am 95% sure I will get it.
  • I have to watch my potty mouth.
  • What if the kid comes out with a disability or deformity? It’s not like I can leave it on a rock on top of a hill like the olden days. I will still love him/her but medical bills must be costly.
  • Speaking of cost, kids are expensive.
  • Divorce is so high and the media portrays men as irresponsible, I don’t want to be stuck raising a kid alone.
  • I don’t want to be like my mother.
  • Having a child means the end of my life.
  • Family is too much drama and starting my own just gives me a headache thinking about it.
  • Men don’t go through anything, they don’t even have to commit if they don’t even want to. Some just lay, spray, and runaway.
  • I don’t need anyone criticizing my parenting capabilities.
  • I want to travel the world, see things, and so stuff. I don’t think traveling a lot is a reality when you have kids.

Now like I stated, I love kids, they are squishy and cuddly and my godson is the cutest. But, I don’t want children. So let me know what you think. Do you guys have kids? Want kids? Don’t want them? I want to know. Tell me your thoughts!

7 thoughts on “Children? Me? No Thanks.

  1. I’ve gone back and forth with this question for a while and recently decided that I do want children but would rather not give birth to them myself.
    Reasons I didn’t want children:
    1. I have issues with my mother as well and am afraid to pass that relationship on to my children.
    2. I don’t want to get fat and pushing a kid out sounds like a horrible idea.
    3. They are a lot of work, am I really up for the task?
    Reasons I decided I want a child:
    1. My gf is more than happy to carry the kid
    2. Kids are pretty cool and I like to think that mine would be pretty awesome
    3. A selfish reason – I think it would be cool to have a tiny version of myself to hopefully mold into a great human.

    Right now I have 0 interest in being pregnant but maybe watching my gf go through it will change my mind and I’ll crave that later in life.

    Like

    • A lot of people say I am too young to understand, yet those same people are my age and got pregnant while in high school. I love kids but see myself as the cool aunt who never says no versus the mothering type who has a mini van.

      Like

      • Oh yeah, I love being the cool aunt!
        There is still a huge part of me that thinks wanting a child is a selfish need because we really just want the child to fulfill something in ourselves. I still struggle with that thought and my need for a child.
        I also think that’s it’s a need to not feel alone now or later in life. Society doesn’t understand how people can be happy if they deviate from the norm.
        Kids may fulfill the lives of many but only you know what fulfills you!

        Like

  2. It took me quite some time to realize I want to become a mom. I will be 25 this year, and my boyfriend of over 8 years will be 30 this year.

    I always had doubts when I was younger because I used to be scared that becoming a mother would change me, as in my interests, and that it would make me want to be less of a geek, but now I know that won’t happen and it’s my biggest wish to have a baby.

    Your age has nothing to do with it, and if people tell you that you only feel like that because you’re still so young then they are assholes. If you are sure you don’t want a kid right now then I am sure that nothing will change that.

    And you know what, there is nothing wrong with not wanting to become a mom. I HATE it when people bash women who do not want children, it’s ridiculous. It doesn’t make you any less feminine either. So whatever feels good to you, do that, and don’t give a flying fuck about what other people think.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post! I always assumed I’d end up wanting kids, but then one day I started doubting and now I know for sure I don’t.
    Just like you, I like kids. Mostly from afar and from a safe distance, but I don’t dislike them. I am sure though, that I would be a terrible mother as I am very keen on rules and would be very strict and straightforward with my offspring. What’s more, all the illnesses in my family (cancer, heart disease, mental illnessess) make me less motivated to procreate. And what you said is true: kids are a big responsibility, are costly, take a lot of time, and it’s heinous to travel with them! After a weekend to Dublin with my sister and her two little ones (aged 3 and almost 2) I am certain I do not want kids of my own.
    So you’re not alone in this 🙂 Plus, being an aunt is awesome, for you get to play with your nephews and nieces all you want, and if they start to get annoying you simply hand them back over to their mom :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

