Television

Ranking 17 Charmed Characters – Worst to Best

SPOILERS AHEAD FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN’T SEEN THE SHOW


17. Christy & Billie Jenkins a.k.a The Crap Sisters

These two idiots share the spot as the worst character on Charmed. They were bad. Really freaking bad. Prue would have beat their asses on the show. Seriously.

Christy – Only in 8 episodes, had no personality, and was a waste of screen time. The story itself wasn’t bad but the way they crammed it into 1 season was trash. I hate Christy so much that I do not even want to waste anymore words on her.

Billie – Is anyone really surprised that I listed her as the worst character on Charmed? Billie was annoying, whinny, bratty & essentially stole the spotlight from the Halliwell’s in season 8. Literally her entire story line was utter shit. She spends the ENTIRE season searching for Christy and in the end Billie kills her. Season 8 was the worst season thanks to Billie. The Charmed Ones spent most of it saving reckless Billie & vanquishing demons that Cole got rid of in season 3. She should have died as well. Hated Billie, the things she said, and her stupid storyline.

16. The Elder’s a.k.a Nasty Old Angels

I hated all of them, every Elder who got screen time was irritating. From the dweeb Kevin in season 5 who got bullied all the way up to Gideon. I understood the purpose of Whitelighters, but an Elder? Seriously? All they did was prance around in the heavens, bossing people around, and setting up stupid rules. Zola, although he was nice was always trying to talk to Leo when the dude was in a messed up place (After he killed Gideon but before he became an Avatar). When he died I didn’t shed a tear. Sandra although she helped more than her male counterparts she was still a bitch and too cryptic for my liking. Odin was nasty, how the hell did he become a whitelighter? He manipulated Leo into choosing the Elders over his family, was way to conservative, and very antagonistic toward the Charmed Ones. Jonnah tried to convince Victor that he and the other Elders would raise Wyatt & Chris after the Charmed Ones “died” in season 8. I honestly believed his intentions were to kill the boys, the Elders hated the idea of Leo & Piper together anyway, so I didn’t trust him. Sam was Paige’s father who abandoned her, he was a deadbeat father. The Elders were the worst, they deemed everyone bad (The Avatars) that didn’t follow the rules set, and weren’t open about anything.

15. Jenny Gordan a.k.a Miss Cockblock

Dan Gordon’s niece who literally served no point on the show. She almost got eaten in 1 episode which was great because I could care less about her character. She was a waste of a character. She added nothing to the show, season 2 would have been better without her. All she does is run around, cry, and is a little cock block. I hated that she was added onto the opening credits. Seeing her on-screen made me cringe and I hated her with a burning passion.

14. Kyle Brody a.k.a That Bastard

He was such an asshole he gets his own number. His obsession with the Avatars was unhealthy in season 7. Kyle was a bad guy full of secrets. He let his obsession with the Avatars rule his life. The first time he found out Leo was an avatar he tried to kill him, but that was AFTER he shot Paige with a dart gun, and held Phoebe at gun point. The second time he found out he tried to kill him again. Even after he found out the Avatars didn’t kill his parents he still wanted them dead. He was such an asshole. The reason why he isn’t lumped with the other men in the show is because he was the worst boyfriend compared to the other ones. I hated Kyle and the only reason why he became a Whitelighter was because he kissed ass.

13A. Miles, Jason, Leslie, Drake, Dex & Coop 

a.k.a
Dead Guy, Hot Guy, Pushy Guy, Ex Demon Guy, Filler Guy #1, Filler Guy #2

phe

This isn’t even all of Phoebe’s love interest’s, there are more that were in the show that I didn’t bother stating. All these guys were a waste of screen time, so I am lumping them all together. Miles was just a filler boyfriend, the guy she dated after Cole. Jason Dean completely dismissed Phoebe after finding out she was a witch, they dated for a year, but that wasn’t enough. Leslie was annoying & kept hitting on Phoebe after she turned him down. The ex demon Drake met Phoebe and only had two weeks to live after that. He fell in love with her, after two weeks (It takes me a month to figure out if I actually want to actually date someone) and he fulfilled his mission; to help Phoebe restore her faith in love again. Stupid sub-plot. Oh God, Dex was a waste a complete waste. Must I indulge on why he was a waste? Can we just agree that he was a waste? Now finally, Phoebe’s current husband, Coop who was just added onto the show to rush Phoebe to get married.

13B. Andy, Roger, Jack, Bane & Justin
a.k.a
Ignorant Cop, Slimeball, Cornball, Mr. Steal Yo Girl & Peter Parker

prue

Every one of Prue’s love interest’s were trash. I get that Andy was supposed to be her first and true love, but he was arrogant, forceful & didn’t understand the word no. His death really affected Prue because she couldn’t keep a relationship after his death. Roger was Prue’s ex fiancé, he was an asshole. He was a slime that kept hitting on Phoebe. Jack was an immature asshat, although he was friendly, I thought he was too cocky for Prue. Sexy mob boss Bane Jessup was a perfect match for Prue. He accepted her Wiccan duties & the two were cute together. But the reason why he is lumped in with the rest of the idiots was because he was a jail-bird and I doubt that he could live a clean life once he got out of jail. Justin was Prue’s stalker in high school. He was a stick in the mud that drove a “I’ll sue you if you yell at me” car.

13C. Jeremy, Josh, Dan & Greg
a.k.a
Way before Leo, Before Leo, Not Leo & Better Than Leo

sdsdsdsd

These three idiots were Piper’s love interest. Jeremy was a warlock & tried to kill the sisters. Josh was cute but he seemed so blah, he looked like a douche face. Dan was the better choice for Piper in my opinion, but he did have some flaws. First off if anyone remembers in season 2 it is stated that in Dan’s past life he was, Gordon Johnson, husband of P. Baxter, and great-grandfather of the Halliwell sisters. Now doesn’t that make him some way related to Piper? No? I am not sure, but if he is, then that is gross. I thought that he was pushy at times and wanted to marry Piper after their third date. But, I feel that if Piper would have stayed with him she would have had some normalcy. Greg had no personality and seemed boring.

13D. Shane, Glen, Nate & Richard
a.k.a
Possessed Dude, Adventure Dude, Cheating Dude & Addict Dude

Untitled

Shane was possessed by the source, tried to kill the sisters, so I don’t like him. Glen was the best choice for Paige in my opinion. He was a mortal, he understood Paige’s duty & he kept her secret. The only reason why he is on my list is because he married that random chick.  Nate was a cheating bastard. Richard was good for Paige as well but his addiction to magic proved to be problematic. He had too many issues, but gave up his powers. That didn’t matter though, Paige still dumped him.

12. Darryl Morris a.k.a Mr. Sigh

San Francisco is supposed to be open-minded yet the only cop the sisters trusted their secrets with was with a guy who was so flip floppy. One minute he cared, then he didn’t, then he didn’t want to be involved, etc. When his character was gone in season 8 I didn’t even notice. He was a pain and couldn’t handle being their connection to the mortal world. However, he had no problem reaping the benefits of the unsolved cases etc. The actor was good to look at so I tolerated him.

11. Victor Bennett a.k.a The Deadbeat

He abandoned his family, no wonder why the Halliwell sisters had a terrible taste in men. He blamed everyone for his marriage problems, Sam, magic & Penny. Instead of just sitting down and saying, “Hmm do I leave my 3 daughters OR do I try to work it out with my Wiccan wife for the sake of our family.” You see what he chose, he’s the reason why Phoebe dated a shit ton of shitty guys, Piper had low self-esteem (up until s3) & Prue was so cold-hearted.

10. Penny Halliwell a.k.a The Bitch

I didn’t like Grams. I thought she was judgmental, rude & nosey. She butted into her daughter’s life WAAAY too much and tried to rule it with an iron fist. She actually condoned her daughter giving away Paige because she was “half whitelighter”. Didn’t she used to be a fun-loving hippie? What cause her first husband died she became a stone cold bitch? Sure she had sass and it was passed to Piper but Grams was very unlikable. She only cared about her legacy.

9. Patty Halliwell a.k.a Mrs. Secret

She doesn’t deserve mother of the year. She risked her life for the “greater good” leaving her kids in the hands of her crazy mother. She gave away her daughter because she was half whitelighter & only wanted to find her so she could fulfill the Charmed Ones has the third sister.
 8. Leo Wyatt a.k.a The Mooching Angel

Pipers angel boyfriend, later husband, later ex husband elder, then avatar husband and finally back to being a mortal again. He was needy, secretive, whiny, dull & acted as if he knew it all. If he was a better father then Wyatt would have never been evil. He actually abandoned his son to be a full-time Elder. He provided no financial or even good emotional support to his wife. He was a mooch who had magical version of identical crisis’. I was glad he was frozen during most of season 8. He was annoying.

7. Henry Mitchell a.k.a The Muggle

He always looked bored when he came on screen. Him & Paige’s story line was utterly rushed but I felt that as a mortal his understanding of the magical situation was good. There’s not much to say about him. I don’t overly hate him but I don’t kind of like him either. He was sort of just a filler dude for Paige to marry.

6. Cole Turner a.k.a Stalker

I liked Cole, sure he was a lying murderous bastard but he was Phoebe’s true love in my opinion. He only wanted to be with her and it wasn’t his fault he became the source. We see that he was actually willing to give away his powers in season 4 but easy manipulated Phoebe stopped him. He had a pretty shitty “redemption” arc though. I was glad to see him during s7 & wished he would have stayed longer to save Phoebe from her slew of fuckboy lovers. His struggle with good and evil was very convincing.

5. Chris Halliwell a.k.a Jan Brady

Chris had serious issues with Wyatt. Wyatt had every badass power and Chris could only move things. Coming from the future to save his brother was a good story for S5 & 6 but the character had his flaws. He was secretive, a worry wart & he didn’t listen to anybody. I loved the strained relationship he had with Leo, because Leo was primarily the reason why Chris was the way he was. He was never around for Chris, his mother was dead & his brother terrorized people with his powers. When Chris beat his ass in the cave my heart skipped a beat.

3A. Paige Matthews a.k.a The other sister

I felt bad for Paige. Always being compared to Prue, feeling second best to her sisters, and always seemed like an outsider. She is my least favorite sister because I her entrance in season 4 was so boring that she never grew on me. I always found myself questioning her loyalty. I don’t know if it was due to the fact that she was half whitelighter, but when she sided with Kyle back in season 7. She is by far the most normal ones in my opinion, not having to deal with crazy Grams and growing up a witch.

3B. Phoebe Halliwell a.k.a Me, Me, Me

Tied with Paige is Phoebe, eh she was always so dramatic in my opinion and way to self involved. She spend the last 3 seasons trying to find a man to fulfill some vision she saw and blah. She never properly transitioned from the baby to the middle child. In my opinion she still acted like childish and was very naive. In Season 3 she was by far the favorite, trying to finish college, trying to be a strong witch, but eh when she didn’t vanquish Cole like she was supposed to I wasn’t thrilled. When she got a job I was happy for her, finally she was working after being a mooch for the first 3 seasons of Charmed.

2. Prue Halliwell a.k.a Righteous One

She sacrificed a lot of her sisters like her social and love life. Although at times she could be full of herself, and bossy (like most older siblings) I honestly was not happy with her death. I felt that the sisterly bonds where way more powerful between Prue, Piper and Phoebe than Piper, Phoebe and Paige. Prue was all about being a witch and protecting the innocent, I am surprised she wasn’t made a whitelighter when she died.

1. Piper Halliwell a.k.a Sass Master

Piper’s character grew through the entire series. She was flawless and would have been a better character without Leo. I always felt he was holding her back. She transitioned from the middle to oldest sister easily. After Prue died, she held the family together, and she always dealt with the real drama of the show. Her quest for Leo during season 8 was the only thing I didn’t like about her character, maybe it was because I despised Leo. Although in seasons 1 – 2 she was the weakest link personality wise, once season 3 came on she was assertive and sassy. God I loved when Piper was sassy.


So I loved Charmed although later seasons sucked and had flip-floppy characters. But anywho, what do you guys think?

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

43 thoughts on “Ranking 17 Charmed Characters – Worst to Best

  1. Wow this is really detailed and well-thought! Honestly I don’t even remember most of the lower rankings (15, 14, 13); there were just so many characters so bland and one-dimensional they didn’t leave any impression whatsoever. I do think Phoebe deserves a much lower rank, she progressively became the most annoying sister. Even Piper had problems and her idiosyncrasies became tiring after a while, but overall I agree she was relatively better than anyone else on the show.
    P.S. Prue wasn’t made a whitelighter and never reappeared on the show because the actress had serious problems with her co-workers; there was some huge argument following which she left or was removed, and quickly replaced by a random new sister!

    Like

    1. All Phoebe cared about was dating and work and Piper became an asshat as the series progressed. It showed in the series finale how bad the show was. Rose was filming Planet Terror that’s why she wasn’t in the finale that much and Alyssa was visiting family. It’s like the two leads couldn’t even bothered to be there. Also, I under stand Shannen not wanting anything to do with the show after she was fired/quit but she wasn’t dumb. I hear she owned 3% of the show so she was making money even after she left. Charmed will always have a place in my heart but the show was seriously flawed. Also, thank you for pointing out the Buffy ranking was blank, I don’t know how but the post is gone. Any way, I will be fixing that and have it up within the next week or so.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t agree more about the sister bond being stronger with Prue on the show. My favorite seasons are 1-3 because it shows how the sisters bond together and are coming into their powers. One of my favorite episodes is where they go back in time to meet their ancestor (can’t remember the name of it). They have to use other means for magic instead of just the book of shadows. I was really upset when Prue was replaced, she was kind of a spotlight hog but the show was better with her there. Paige was ok, but it just seemed like a better fit with Shannen as the sister. I wish Cole & Phoebe could have ended up together because I thought he was her true love too. The last season was terrible, Billie and Christy ruined it and made it unwatchable. I agree with a lot of your points, especially Leo!

    Like

    1. I mean eh that was harsh haha it wasn’t really bad but once I discovered Buffy it was like I found a better show, Charmed will always be the first supernatural type of show I watched.

      Like

  3. I don’t fully agree. Piper was my favorite character growing up. But I recently re-watched the show and she’s just SO full of herself. She was bitchy, bossy, always wanted to be right even though she was (often) wrong, especially after Prue died. But, above all, she was selfish. I’m not going to list every examples but it was quite clear that, by the end, she couldn’t care less about the innocents she had to save, her only priority was herself, her little comfort and having “a normal life”. And Dan was boring and useless. But that’s just my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I recently did a re-watch and on top of that I watched Manic Episodes. Piper and Phoebe were both selfish and if I had to re do this list again they would be higher in the worst column. They both talked about all these sacrifices and they didn’t really make any sacrifices. Piper wanted this normal life so badly and Phoebe only cared about finding a man. Paige’s character was the only one who was semi normal. I am thinking of doing an updated version of this but I am not sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely agree with you now haha! Even if Paige was sometimes annoying, didn’t appear until season 4, struggled with being a witch at first, she was the only one who understood that she had a duty, a destiny greater than finding a husband and having children. I would love an updated version !
    And about the Manic Episodes, they are sometimes funny and true but she’s taking the show way too seriously. Nobody watched Charmed to think about the deep meaning of life

    Like

  5. Everyone seems to be too harsh on piper and phoebe. Yes, they struggled with their personal life vs their duties. But that was the point. They had already been constantly fighting evil for so long and been treated like nothing but soldiers by the elders and lost their sister. It’s not that they didn’t care but that they were tired of not being able to achieve happiness. I think they emphasis that this show placed on fighting for true love was part of what made it so great

    Like

    1. “It’s not that they didn’t care but that they were tired of not being able to achieve happiness.” – Nah they didn’t care after some point. When you have a great power and a duty then you have to stick by it, if not then give up your powers if you cannot handle it.

      “I think they emphasis that this show placed on fighting for true love was part of what made it so great” – It also made the show very unoriginal.

      Like

  6. Charmed seasons 1-3 were the best. Prue, Piper and Phoebe felt more like sisters then with Paige. The episodes were solidly written and acted. Charmed got worse though with each season after Prue died. Season 8 was the worse. I really wish Phoebe would of had better active powers especially once she became the middle sister even Paige had better powers then her (her premonition power was good) but she needed one that could actually kill demons and rival her sisters active powers.

    Like

  7. God the elders are bloody ridiculous! What good do they even do! They just stand there in their ridiculous gowns and look grumpy. Odin is the worst elder 😂

    Also leo can be a pussy, always worried about breaking their lame ‘rules’ hah! But I still love Leo.

    Like

  8. Oh, I just watched some S4 and 5 on Netflix and actually got mad for the way Phoebe treated Cole. Your point about him becoming Source by being tricked by Sere and only so he could save Phoebe and sisters and then naive little slut Phoebe jumping in after Sere pushed some bullshit about ,,listening your baby” whatever that means and killing the Wizard is exactly on point. Phoebe just strike me with how easy she could be made to do really bad and stupid stuff.
    And I couldn’t miss how she constantly yak about screwing and sex and in general other sisters sometimes pretty openly too which is fine mostly, but then saying ,,uuugh” when someone is just kissing. Are they for real?
    Cole did so much for her and was strong man with many inner fights always willing to work to better himself.
    She fell in love just because her stupid slutty ,,bad boy” c**t heart in first place. Even while being the Source, Cole part was dragging the Source down and was unable do the Evil, he wanted.
    WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT? How could they overlook how many times they were tricked and even Phoebe to do stupid stuff, but looked other way, when it’s guy.
    Honestly, even Leo being constantly right and patient, while Piper nagging at him and being bitchy is sometimes little hard to watch. Like how virtuous you gotta be as a man and these girls just do whatever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bruh you sound aaaaaaangry at phebs lol. Lmao, the sisters complained a lot and treated others like garbage. But, it will forever hold a place in my heart. Thank you for stoping by and leaving a comment 🙂

      Like

  9. Sorry. I just watched few seasons on Netflix and was really, really enjoying it, but I can’t say why the way Cole is treated and how Phoebe doesn’t take any responsibility is so irritating.

    Like

  10. I’ve been rewatching the episodes on Netflix and ughhhhh Phoebe’s baby voice!!!!! When she places with Paige or anytime she is supposed to be playing a character other than Phoebe the only thing that she does different is that stupid baby voice. Is she seriously that bad of an actress?! I actually love Pheobe but gahhhhh that voice is driving me insane

    Like

  11. I went back and forth between loving Phoebe in the first 3 seasons but after Prue’s death she became UNBEARABLE. I seriously don’t understand how anyone could tolerate her. Her baby voice and the way her character was developed just didn’t do it for me. In the end, the show began focusing mainly on her and that drove me up the wall because she’s not really that interesting of a character. I really liked Piper in the beginning but she became pretty bleh to me. Prue, on the other hand was my favourite I guess because I relate so much to her lol. After she died, I was genuinely sad because of how level-headed she was but would often let her weaknesses shine through. I also loved Paige and thought she was an extremely fitting addition to the show. While the writers were having a blast giving Phoebe the worst lines and the most obnoxious jokes, Paige became the cutest little super witch with her few quirks that made her that more interesting to watch. Not to mention Rose Mcgowan is strikingly beautiful.

    Like

  12. while Victor has to take responsibility. Grams has admitted several times She chased him away. Grams has to take some responsibility. she is unlikable I think also they way the girls are is partially because of her too. Patty needed to stand up to her mother

    Like

  13. rewatching Charmed and really the elders except Gideon didn’t really do anything bad, they really just acting like how gods in the religion with their all their roles the girls just like doing what they want to do and in actuality i saw Gideon’s point

    Like

    1. I liked Gideon’s character because he wasn’t trying to be evil, he thought that he was doing good by killing Wyatt. Although Season 6 isn’t my favorite, I do like the last 3 episodes of it. The finale was good and seeing Gideon lose he mind by being racked with “saving the world” was really good.

      Like

  14. I hate Phoebe! I feel like she was the reason Prue died apparently saving ur bf is more important than family! Prue is by far my favorite

    Like

  15. The thing I hated about Phoebe was her tongue- first on screen kisses (yuck!) I liked Piper and Phoebe after Prue dies. When Prue was there she took all the good storylines and always saved the day. That’s not how sisters work. Paige was ok but just too much of a do-gooder. She didn’t loose a sister, she gained two, so she can’t understand their loss. (They also lost their mother and father to magic stuff).
    HOW can anyone say that Cole treated Phoebe right?? He’s a flipping stalker, he terrorised her, and was violent and a goddamn murderer. Plus he has a soul so that’s no excuse.
    And please stop trashing women’s right to choose a boyfriend and date/ sleep with men, Phoebe has a vibrant social life and is fashion forward; I’m so glad I grew up watching this rather than Twilight.
    But I defo agree with the Bille, Christy characters, and the non boyfriends.

    Like

    1. Hello there thanks for the comment!

      1. ” When Prue was there she took all the good storylines and always saved the day. That’s not how sisters work.” – In season 1 the storylines focused HEAVILY on Prue which made the show feel very contrived. Seasons 2 was a bit more flushed out and by Season 3 the show focused on the sisters as a whole. Prue didn’t have much of a storyline since the actor was leaving.

      2. “Paige was ok but just too much of a do-gooder.” – Isn’t that the point of the sisters? To do good?

      3. “She didn’t loose a sister, she gained two, so she can’t understand their loss.” – Thats a harsh thing to say, regardless if Paige didn’t know Prue that was still family. It must suck to have a sister that passed that you never got to meet.

      4. “They also lost their mother and father to magic stuff” – They lost their mother to a water demon. Their father left because he didn’t want the sisters raised as witches.

      5. “HOW can anyone say that Cole treated Phoebe right?? He’s a flipping stalker, he terrorised her, and was violent and a goddamn murderer.” – In season 3 Cole was sent by demons to prey on Phoebe because she was the youngest therefore considered naive. The writers did Cole HORRIBLY, one minute he wanted to be good, the next minute he wanted to be evil. It was a constant flip flop and after awhile it became apparent the writers had no idea what to do.

      6. “Plus he has a soul so that’s no excuse.” – When did he receive his soul? He was half human / half demon, he then became human, then he was possessed by the source, then he became a demon again. In which episode did he receive a soul?

      7. “And please stop trashing women’s right to choose a boyfriend and date/ sleep with men, Phoebe has a vibrant social life and is fashion forward” – When did I bash Phoebe in my post about her sex life? Let me know.

      8. ” I’m so glad I grew up watching this rather than Twilight.” – I am so glad I found Buffy shortly after this, its a better show all around. However like I’ve stated before, Charmed will always have a place in my heart.

      9. “But I defo agree with the Bille, Christy characters, and the non boyfriends.” – Man, Billie & Christy sure did suck.

      Like

Leave a Reply

