Movies

8 Movies You Shouldn’t See If You Have A Deadbeat Dad

Hey peeps. My biological father is a deadbeat. I didn’t meet him until I was 12 & when I did he was only in my life for a year. Recently he has tried to get to know me but a part of me isn’t interested. So I am doing this little rant / list of movies I have seen growing up that made me sad due to me not have a father figure.


I’ll Do Anything

 

The Movie: This is an oldie. I remember seeing this movie around the time when I was spending time with my sperm donor. It came out in 1994 and is about a struggling actor named Matt who finds himself being the soul caretaker of his six year old daughter Jeannie.

The Father: Matt was a deadbeat, he hadn’t seen Jeannie since she was four years old. But he was putting an effort and that’s more than what I could say about my dad.

My Feels: The movie itself wasn’t the greatest, but there is a scene when Jeannie is acting for a TV pilot, and she has to cry on cue which is something she struggles with throughout the entire film. When she does the crowd loves it and when asked by Matt what she thought about she said, “I just thought about someone taking me away from you.”  I couldn’t handle the feels after that line.

A Goofy Movie

The Movie: I grew up with this awesome movie. Even though 99.9% of this movie is funny the plot is pretty sad, it is about Goofy trying to amend the somewhat strained relationship he has with his son Max. Throughout the entire movie Max is annoyed with Goofy, all he cares about is his concert & Roxanne. Goofy just wants to spend time with his son who he feels that he is loosing.

The Father: Goofy is a caring, compassionate & fun father. He loves his son, and would do anything for him.

My Feels:  When Max & Goofy are floating in the river on top of their car and Goofy reveals that no matter how old Max gets, he will always be his son. I was a wreck during this scene, it was sad. Made me wish I had a dad like Goofy.

This is where my heart fucking rips into a billion pieces.

Big Daddy

time-flies-big-daddy-taught-us-all-how-to-be-kids-16-years-ago-417893

The Movie: A lazy law school grad adopts a kid to impress his girlfriend, but ends up falling in love with the kid, and the idea of being a father.

The Father: Sonny, irresponsible goofball who was all about fun. Kevin a kind hearted man who was soon to be married.

My Feels: I was jealous of Julian, the kid had a dad and a guy who wanted to be his dad. Lucky!  Also who could not forget Sonny’s speach at the hearing? Hm? Remember? The feels? The moment I realized my dad never thought like this.

“You can be scared that I might get pick pocketed in a bad neighborhood or break my legs skiing. But don’t be scared about me being a dad, because I will not fail. I love this kid too much. I love him as much as you love me, Dad. I’m gonna give him advice and I’m gonna guide him and I’ll be there whenever he needs me. I’ll fly to New York to be at his court case even if I disagree with why he’s there. I know this is the right thing because I would die for this kid just so he won’t feel one ounce of sadness. That’s why you’re here right now, to protect me, to be scared for me to be a good father. And that’s exactly what I’m gonna be.”

The Lion King

The Movie: After the death of his father, Simba is cast out of his pride by his cruel uncle, who claims he killed his father. The rest of his life he has no worries until his past comes to haunt him. Then he has to prove who the true Lion King is.

The Father:  Mufasa was wise, brave, powerful, courageous, and strong. He often gave Simba valuable advice to make sure he grew to be a good King.

My Feels:  How sad was it when Mufasa was murdered?!? Poor Simba. Also, if your dead father has to appear in the sky to tell you to get your life together, then he is a good dad.

To Kill a Mockingbird

The Movie: A black man is accused of raping a Caucasian woman, Atticus offers to defend him. No matter what the evidence says, no one in this town seems willing to believe in the innocence of an accused Negro.

The Father: Atticus had a good sense of morals, he was fair, intelligent, and open minded. He treats his children as adults, honestly answering any question they have. He uses all these instances as an opportunity to pass his values on to Scout and Jem. He basically tries to raise them as not being racists in the south during the 1930’s.

My Feels: Atticus was ahead of his time and treated everyone with fairness. I would have wanted him as a dad because he was very smart, and I could of absorbed his teachings like a sponge.

“If you just learn a single trick, Scout, you’ll get along a lot better with all kinds of folks. You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

Juno

juno

The Movie: The move is about an independent-minded teenager confronting an unplanned pregnancy and the subsequent events that put pressures of adult life onto her.

The Father: Juno’s dad Mac, was supportive 100% and never forced Juno to do anything she didn’t want to. Also his advice was amazing.

My Feels: Mac was a gentle soul who only wanted the best for his daughter. He seemed like a fun dad to be around. When he gave her advice it made me tear up.

Mac MacGuff: Look, in my opinion, the best thing you can do is find a person who loves you for exactly what you are. Good mood, bad mood, ugly, pretty, handsome, what have you, the right person is still going to think the sun shines out your ass. That’s the kind of person that’s worth sticking with.

Juno MacGuff: Yeah. And I think I’ve found that person.

Mac MacGuff: Yeah sure you have – your old D-A-D! You know I’ll always be there to love you and support you no matter what kind of pickle you’re in… Obviously. [nods to her belly]

Finding Nemo


The Movie: A clownfish named Marlin who, along with a regal tang named Dory, searches for his abducted son Nemo all the way to Sydney Harbour.

The Father: After the death of his wife and almost all of his kids. Marlin was overprotective of his son Nemo who has a smaller right fin as a result of damage to his egg during the attack, which limits his swimming ability.

My Feels: This father took risks, almost died, and was literally out of his element just to reunite with his son Nemo. I was sad during the beginning of the film mostly, when Marlins family was massacred. The way he cradled the lonely egg. Ugh. It hurts.

Boyz n the Hood

boyz-key

The Movie: Follows the lives of three young males living in the Crenshaw ghetto of Los Angeles, dissecting questions of race, relationships, violence and future prospects.

The Father: Jason “Furious” Styles was the father of Tre. When Tre was a child he got into trouble for fighting, and Jason agreed to take on raising Tre full time. He is big on responsibility and tries to instill a good sense of morals in his son.

My Feels: Jason, was the first African American father that I have seen, in a movie that wasn’t portrayed as a deadbeat. Being a minority it gave me hope, however my hope diminished that my dad wouldn’t be like Jason Styles, he wont tell me inspirational things nor care about my education. Oh lets not forget, he took on raising his son as the primary care giver. Yeah, I was stuck with my crazy mother.


Yep.. its official I have daddy issues. Anybody else have some daddy issues? Maybe mommy issues? Or issues in general? We all have issues. It’s okay. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

*Summaries of the movies were found on wiki and or IMDB*
Leave a Reply

